Afghanistan, is a nation state in southern Asia. Afghanistan is considered to be part of Central Asia. The country is mountainous and landlocked. It borders on Pakistan to the south and east, Iran to the west, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan and Tadzhikistan to the north, and China at the farthest eastern point. The name Afghanistan means “the country of the Afghans”. During Roman times it was called Ariana or Bactria. During the Middle Ages the name Khorasan was used.

Membership in international and regional organisations: the UN with most UN agencies, ECO (economic cooperation organisation for Muslim states in West and Central Asia), the Islamic Conference, the Islamic Development Bank.